HH Group - People


Hossein Hashemi received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in electronics engineering from Sharif University of Technology, Tehran, Iran in 1997 and 1999, respectively, and the M.S. and Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, CA in 2001 and 2003, respectively.

In 2003, he joined the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California (USC), Los Angeles, where he is currently a Professor, Ming Hsieh Faculty Fellow, and Co-Director of the Ming Hsieh Institute. His research interests include electrical and optical integrated systems.

Dr. Hashemi currently serves as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Journal of Solid State Circuits and a Technical Program Committee member for the IEEE Radio Frequency Integrated Circuits (RFIC) Symposium. He was a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (2013-14), member of the Technical Program Committees for the IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) (2011-2015) and the IEEE Compound Semiconductor Integrated Circuits Symposium (CSICS) (2012-2014), a Guest Editor of the IEEE Journal of Solid State Circuits (October 2013 & December 2013), and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems Part I: Regular Papers (2006-2007) and the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems Part II: Express Briefs (2004-2005). He was the recipient of the 2008 Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award, the National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, and the USC Viterbi School of Engineering Junior Faculty Research Award (2008). He was recognized as a Distinguished Scholar for the Outstanding Achievement in Advancement of Engineering by the Association of Professors and Scholars of Iranian Heritage (2011). He was a corecipient of the 2004 IEEE Journal of Solid State Circuits Best Paper Award and the 2007 IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) Lewis Winner Award for Outstanding Paper.

Dr. Hashemi is the cofounder and chief technology officer of Abtum Inc., a USC start-up company focusing on commercializing radio frequency frontend components.

Current PhD Students

  • Masashi Yamagata

  • Pingyue Song

  • Aria Samiei

  • Samer Idres

Current Postdoctoral Scholars, Research Associates, and Visiting Scholars

  • SungWong Chung

  • Makoto Nakai

Former PhD Students

  • Harish Krishnaswamy (Jan. 2009)
    Columbia University
    Architectures and integrated circuits for RF and mm-wave multiple-antenna systems on silicon [pdf]

  • Ta-Shun Chu (Sep. 2010)
    National Tsing Hua University
    Silicon-based broadband short-range radar architectures and implementations [pdf]

  • Ankush Goel (Sep. 2010)
    MediaTek Inc.
    Integrated multi-band and wideband reconfigurable wireless receivers [pdf]

  • Firooz Aflatouni (Sep. 2011)
    University of Pennsylvania
    Electronically assisted relative and absolute phase control of semiconductor lasers [pdf]

  • Zahra Safarian (Feb. 2014)
    Broadcom Corporation
    Energy aware integrated circuits for communication and biomedical applications [pdf]

  • Jonathan Roderick (Sep. 2014)
    Teledyne Technologies, Inc.
    Silicon-based wideband & mm-wave power amplifier architectures and implementations [pdf]

  • Run Chen (Oct. 2015)
    Apple Inc.
    Integrated reconfigurable wireless receivers supporting carrier aggregation [pdf]

  • Kunal Datta (Oct. 2016)
    Skyworks Solutions, Inc.
    High power, highly efficient, millimeter-wave, switching power amplifiers for watt-level high-speed silicon transmitters [pdf]

  • Alireza Imani (Oct. 2016)
    Broadcom Corporation
    Wideband low phase-noise RF and mm-wave frequency generation [pdf]

  • Hooman Abediasl (Jan. 2017)
    Rockley Photonics Inc.
    Integrated large-scale monolithic electro-optical systems in standard SOI CMOS process [pdf]

  • Sushil Subramanian (May 2017)
    Intel Corporation
    Mixed-signal integrated circuits for interference tolerance in wireless receivers and fast frequency hopping

Former Postdoctoral Scholars, Research Associates, and Visiting Scholars

  • Mahmood Bagheri (12/08-04/09)
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory

  • SangHyun Chang (01/09-07/11)
    Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd.

  • Behnam Analui (09/09-05/14)
    Abtum Inc.

  • Hongrui Wang (02/12-09/13)
    Broadcom Corporation

  • Ankush Goel (05/12-02/15)
    MediaTek Inc.

  • Marcelo Segura (10/12-12/14)
    National University of San Juan

Former MS and MEng Students

  • Kenneth Newton (MS, 03/04-05/05)

  • Sunghwan Kim (MS, 05/04-05/05)

  • Bizhan Delgoshaei (MS, 05/05-08/05)

  • Sang Lee (MS, 05/05-03/06)

  • Omeed Momeni (MS, 06/05-12/06)

  • Darshan Kadia (MS, 06/07-12/07)

  • Timothy Mercer (MS, 08/08-05/10)

  • Chenliang Du (MEng, 05/10-09/14)

  • Shirin Vakilian (MS, 01/11-01/13)

  • Haotian Duan (MS, 01/14-06/14)

  • Balkrushna Kankotiya (MS, 08/16-12/16)

  • Kaustubh Chaudhari (MS, 01/16-12/16)

Former BS Students

  • Kaushik Sengupta (06/05-08/05)

  • Cindy Goh (05/05-10/05)

  • Arka Majumdar (06/06-08/06)

  • Timothy Mercer (05/07-07/08)

  • Katherine Elis (09/08-09/09)

  • Eric Kawalsky (09/08-12/08)

  • Kunal Datta (06/09-08/09)

  • Noam Weinberger (06/11-08/11)

  • Soyoung Kang (01/11-04/11)

  • Rittik Shah (01/11-08/11)

  • Siddhartha Sarkar (06/13-08/13)

  • Sudipta Biswas (06/14-08/14)

  • Alex Allsup (09/16-12/16)

  • Saransh Sharma (06/16-08/16)

  • Richelle Smith (01/17-05/17)

  • Ilija Hristovski (06/17-08/17)